Skip to content

Being facile

August 29, 2011

I’ll admit that it started out purely as a visual pun. It seemed too obvious not to have already been done, but I couldn’t find any reference to someone beating me to it. So I did it anyway.

A bit of cut and pastry later and I had transformed the Facebook logo into a fully working Facilebook logo. It looked like the picture you can see here.

As I’d gone to the trouble of creating a logo I thought it would be facile not to create a Facebook group to accompany it. So I did that as well.

I invited a few people who I knew were deeply facile on a number of levels to join. They did. They invited their friends to join too. They did as well. Before I knew what was going on the group had more than 50 members. They all seemed to be facile too.

I have to say my original intention was to highlight the deeply facile actual posts that people choose to share. I set some ground rules. This is what they were:

  • Posts that begin with “If you have a blah blah blah that has blah blah let them know you’re blah blah blah”
  • Posts that illustrate the profound shallowness of the poster by revealing startling facts like “I really want an ice cream.”
  • Posts that contain any reference whatsoever to the loveliness of pets.
  • Posts that include hugs, hearts or histrionics.
  • IF YOU SEE A POST THAT STRIKES YOU AS BEING FACILE, WHY NOT SHARE IT WITH US HERE – YOU MAY LOSE A FEW FRIENDS, BUT THEY’RE IDIOTS ANYWAY.”

I even included a helpful explanation of what facile means to help interested, but obviously poorly-educated, parties ensure that they got it. It went like this: FACILE – ARRIVED AT WITHOUT DUE CARE, EFFORT, OR EXAMINATION; SUPERFICIAL.

But did they listen? No. Before long people were actually making up their own facile posts. This wasn’t what I intended. I despair at the general population and their inability to understand basic instructions. However, the posts were funny – and deeply facile of course! So I let it go. I’m nice like that.

Since its launch a couple of weeks ago more than 2,500 facile posts and observations have been added to the group. Many are actual, many are self-consciously created by those with a hankering to appear facile even if they aren’t, but all of them are, I’m glad to say, facile.

I’m heartened by the group’s capacity for facile content. You probably won’t be if you take a look here: https://www.facebook.com/#!/groups/250954874937598/

I’m not sure what the group’s success says about 21st century attitudes. I’ve no idea if it’s indicative of falling standards generally, a burgeoning intellectual malaise or indeed an illustration that at heart we all love to be facile. What I do know though is that I’ve been laughing like a drain at it and I’m not the only one.

So, if you would like to join in with what is at heart an utter waste of time and energy, then get yourself down to Facilebook forthwith. Chances are you’ll be hugely disappointed!

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. I…uh…shared this on Facebook…

Leave a Reply

